## **BERITA ONLINE NEW STRAITS TIME**

**TARIKH: 15 APRIL 2022 (JUMAAT)** 



## Umno cabinet members happy with Ismail Sabri's nomination as PM candidate

By New Straits Times - April 15, 2022 @ 3:23pm









Umno cabinet members say Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri's nomination as the party's prime ministerial candidate for the 15th General Election (GE15), would guarantee the continuity of all plans and efforts by the government so far especially on combating Covid-19 infections.

KUALA LUMPUR: Umno cabinet members welcomed the nomination of Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob as the party's prime ministerial candidate for the 15th General Election (GE15).

In a joint statement today, Umno ministers and deputy ministers said the decision made by the Umno supreme council last night proved that party president Datuk Seri Dr Ahmad Zahid Hamidi and his deputy, Datuk Seri Mohamad Hasan practiced inclusive leadership.

They said Ismail Sabri's nomination would also guarantee the continuity of all plans and efforts by the government so far especially on combating Covid-19 infections.

"At present, Malaysia is stepping into the endemic phase which will focus on recovery, something that the Prime Minister is currently working hard on.

"Since the Covid-19 situation has gotten better now, social activities and the reopening of various sectors have been announced, along with activities during Ramadan and Hari Raya such as inter-state travel.

"Aside from that, the Prime Minister's concerns over the recovery of the economy which includes the implementation of new minimum wages, people-related agendas including empowering women's rights as announced in the recent Umno general assembly have all been accepted positively by the public.

"Therefore, Ismail Sabri's nomination as the sole prime ministerial candidate from Umno will ensure continuity of all plans and national recovery agenda post Covid-19," they said in the statement.

There were 10 ministers and 10 deputy ministers who signed the joint statement.

The 10 ministers are Senior Defence Minister Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein, Rural Development Minister Datuk Seri Mahdzir Khalid, Higher Education Minister Datuk Seri Dr Noraini Ahmad, Communications and Multimedia Minister Tan Sri Annuar Musa, Housing and Local Government Minister Datuk Seri Reezal Merican, Health Minister Khairy Jamaluddin, Unity Minister Datuk Halimah Sadique, Science, Technology and Innovation Minister Datuk Seri Dr Adham Baba, Entrepreneur Development and Cooperatives Minister Tan Sri Noh Omar and Federal Territories Minister Datuk Seri Shahidan Kassim.

The 10 deputy ministers are Datuk Seri Abdul Rahmad Mohamad, Datuk Seri Dr Ismail Abd Muttalib, Datuk Seri Dr Ismail Mohamed Said, Datuk Shahar Abdullah, Datuk Mastura Yazid, Datuk Seri Ahmad Hamzah, Datuk Zahidi Zainul Abidin, Datuk Seri Jalaluddin Alias, Datuk Mohamad Alamin, Datuk Dr Ahmad Masrizal Muhammad.